About the Netherlands Institute for Sustainable Packaging (KIDV)

Sustainable packaging = circular packaging

The Netherlands Institute for Sustainable Packaging (KIDV) was established in 2013 to contribute to a circular economy for packaging materials. Circular packaging means that packaging is designed, produced and processed in such a way that can be renewed, reduced, re-used and recycled. Thus, we create new economic opportunities, become less dependent on other countries for raw materials, and it benefits the environment.

Developing, consolidating and sharing knowledge

Partnership between suppliers, producers and importers of packed goods, waste processors and recyclers is essential for this. After all, the aim is to close the whole chain: from raw material to re-use. A condition for this cooperation is that all stakeholders in the chain have access to factual knowledge about sustainable packaging based on the following principles: reduce, re-use, renew and recycle. The Netherlands Institute for Sustainable Packaging (KIDV) is responsible for the development, consolidation and sharing of that knowledge.

Organizational structure

The KIDV consists of a board of governors, an Advisory Board and the KIDV office. The board of governors consists of representatives of the national government, the industry and municipalities under the leadership of an independent chair. The Advisory Board consists of representatives of materials organizations, waste processing companies, environmental organizations, the scientific community, industry and national government.

The KIDV is funded by the Packaging Waste Fund to the tune of two million euros per annum for a period of ten years. The funds are generated by Packaging Waste Management Contributions. The board of governors manages this budget. The KIDV reports on its activities and results every year in its annual report and annual statement of accounts, which are published on this site.


  • Ingrid Goud

    Office manager
  • Karen van de Stadt

    Packaging expert
  • Anne van Seters

  • Nynke Arntzen

    Packaging expert
  • Niels van Marle

  • Vincent Balk

    Project manager
  • Daphne van den Berg

  • Marc Reijnders

    Project manager
  • Pascal Zoetbrood

  • Anne-Marth Vrind

    Project manager
  • Kees Kerstens

    Project manager
  • Gijs Langeveld

    Project manager
  • Peter Blok

    Project manager
  • Lilian Scholten

    Communication advisor
  • Maartje Knaap

  • Sanne Bode

  • Charissa Koolen


  • Cees de Mol van Otterloo

  • Marc Jansen

    Director of the Central Office of Food and Grocery Trade (CBL)
  • Marian Geluk

    Director Dutch Federation Food Products Industry (FNLI)
  • Ronald van Welie

    Director Dutch Cosmetics Association (NCV)
  • Eus Peters

    Director Council Dutch Retail (RND)

Advisory board

  • Jan Paul van Soest

  • Jacqueline Cramer

    President, former Director General of the Dutch Ministry of Housing, Spatial Planning and the Environment (VROM)
  • Jos Keurentjes

    Professor at Wageningen University & Research (WUR)
  • Roland ten Klooster

    Director of the Dutch Waste Management Association (DWMA)
  • Peter Rem

    Director of InnovatieLink